Skip to main content

News / Articles


Fabiola G Roura Moreno | Published on 1/31/2024


Dr. Elma Mera Steves, Dr. Agustín Arbulú & Dr. Oscar Talledo


In honor of our 50th Anniversary celebration, the Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Dr. Elma Mera Steves, Dr. Agustín Arbulú, and Dr. Oscar Talledo, founding members of PAMS that were present at the first meeting on 9 September, 1973 in Atlanta, GA.  We were delighted with the presence of Dr. Mera Steves and Dr. Arbulú.  Dr. Talledo, was unable to attend the anniversary gala.

Mrs. Maria Montesinos & Dr. Efrain Montesinos 


Mrs. María Montesinos received the Lifetime Achievement Award presented to her and her late husband, Dr. Efraín Montesinos.  The Montesinos established the thoracic cardiology unit at the Dos de Mayo National Hospital in Lima, saving the lives of hundreds of people. Their efforts of caring for patients and performing highly complex cardiac surgeries continues through PAMS members including Dr. Julio Peralta, Chair of Cardiac Thoracic Dept, Dos de Mayo Hospital, Dr. Aldo Rafael with Salvando Corazones Mission, and Dr. Juan Carlos Alejos with Corazones con Esperanza.